Dairygold Paperless

Register now
Dairygold announces winners of its annual Milk Quality Awards

Dairygold announces winners of its annual Milk Quality Awards

22nd September 2020

The Lordan family in Mid Cork awarded best quality milk for 2019

Dairygold milk suppliers Denis, Nora and Michael Lordan of Newcestown, Bandon, Co. Cork were declared the overall winners of the 2019 Dairygold Milk Quality Awards and winners of the Mid Cork region for consistently supplying the best quality milk to Dairygold in 2019.

Pictured at their farm in Newcestown, Bandon, Co. Cork are the 2019 Dairygold Milk Quality Award Winners Cathy, Denis, Nora and Michael Lordan with Dairygold Chairman John O’ Gorman, Ger Hennessy Dairygold Milk Advisor, Richard Hinchion, Dairygold Board Member and Dairygold CEO Jim Woulfe.


Denis, Nora and Michael formed a family partnership a number of years ago with all three family members working very well together to milk 95 cows on a milking platform of 33 hectares. Michael has experience working on dairy farms in New Zealand having completed his two year agriculture course in Darragh Agri College. The Lordans also rear replacements and some beef animals on an outside block of land. Sustainability is a key consideration for the Lordans on the farm and was evident through the use of low emissions slurry spreading, soil testing, milk recording and selective dry cow therapy.

The judge declared that while all three finalists in the region demonstrated exceptional quality, the Lordan family farm was an excellent example of what attention to detail and excellent milk and wash routines can achieve. They praised the Lordans for their successful working relationship and focus on sustainability throughout the farm.

Speaking about the awards, Dairygold Chairman John O’Gorman said; “The success of our products across the world depends on our excellent quality of milk. These awards give us an opportunity to recognise the hard work and effort of our milk suppliers in helping us maintain the excellent standards expected of us while also recognising the efforts made to ensure the sustainability of our industry. The Lordans have shown that if we work together, we can achieve fantastic results.”

Dairygold Chief Executive Jim Woulfe added: “It is a testament to the hard work of our suppliers that we are on track to reach 1.425 billion litres of milk, an increase of more than 35 million litres on 2019 even with the considerable challenges the year has presented. The average quality of our milk supply also improved which highlights the ethos of continuous improvement across our milk supply base. In recognition of the efforts to continuously improve milk quality, we paid out some €5.5million over the year in quality bonus payments.”

Pictured at his farm in Newcestown, Bandon, Co. Cork is 2019 Dairygold Milk Quality Award Winner Michael Lordan


The Awards were based on 2019 milk quality data for all 2,700 Dairygold milk suppliers across counties Cork, Tipperary, Limerick and Clare. A shortlist was drawn up of three suppliers from each of the six Dairygold regions. These eighteen finalists underwent adjudication by Don Crowley, Teagasc dairy specialist.

While adhering to Covid-19 protocols and guidelines the judge visited all six shortlisted farms to review their farm enterprises first-hand. The review took account of milk quality, dairy facilities, herd health and welfare, sustainability and general efficiencies and farm health and safety.


The judge chose one overall winner, six regional winners and a sustainability winner.


Milk Quality Award Finalists

Mid Cork Region

Regional Winner               Denis, Michael and Nora Lordan, Farnalough, Newcestown, Bandon, Co. Cork

Regional Finalist                John, Sean and Eileen O’Leary, Kilbarry, Macroom, Co. Cork

Regional Finalist                Tom and Shane Tanner, West View House, Aglish, Coachford, Co. Cork


East Cork Region

Regional Winner               William and Yvonne Stack, Ballyedmond, Midleton, Co. Cork

Regional Finalist                Ray Bryan, Park, Youghal, Co. Cork

Regional Finalist                David, Michael and Carmel Hartnett, Ballymonis, Whitegate, Co. Cork


Mallow Region

Regional Winner               Conor and Liz Fitzpatrick, Beechmount, Mallow, Co. Cork

Regional Finalist                Liam, Hannah and Mark Sexton, Beenalaught, Bweing, Mallow, Co. Cork

Regional Finalist                Margaret and Kevin Williams, Ballybrack, Doneraile, Co. Cork



Regional Winner               Ger and Caroline Hanrahan, Rahard, Ballyhooly, Co. Cork

Regional Finalist +

Sustainability Winner     Jim and Edel Conway, Burncourt, Cahir, Co. Tipperary

Regional Finalist                John and James Keane, Labbamollogga, Ballylanders, Co. Limerick


Limerick Region

Regional Winner               Seamus and Jim Kelly, Kilmore, Granagh, Kilmallock, Co. Limerick.

Regional Finalist                Joseph Collopy, Clouncunna, Ballysimon, Co. Limerick.

Regional Finalist                Denis Harty, Derk, Pallasgreen, Co. Limerick.


Tipperary Region

Regional Winner               Stephen and PJ Keating, Tubrid, Ballylooby, Cahir, Co. Tipperary

Regional Finalist                Anthony, Norah and William Carroll, Dranganmore, Cahir, Co. Tipperary

Regional Finalist                Tony Farrell, Ballinclough, Golden, Co. Tipperary